An applicant for a gun permit applying in Madison County must be a resident of the county and have a valid Nebraska photo ID or driver’s license. Persons who are a holder of a valid permit under the Concealed Handgun Permit Act are not required to have a gun permit. For more information, click here to access the NSP web site – Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit.
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age and have no felony convictions, a criminal history check will be conducted when the application is made. Providing fraudulent information on an application for a permit is a felony offense.
Applications for gun permits may be made at the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday, 8:00 PM to 5:00 PM, excluding legal holidays.
Permits are $5.00 and are good for 3 years.
Handgun Purchase Permit Requirements
- 21 years or older
- Madison County resident
- 3 total years of address history needed on application
- $5.00 Application Fee